Uncategorized

Call me Dizzle

My name is Wanda Masake Sokutu, but you can call me Dizzle. What i am is the product of Nosisi and Tamsanqa Sokutu (my loving parents). Who I am? Well… first and foremost I AM LOVE (yes!! You are too), secondly i am a human being, beyond the categories that follow. I am young, black, between the ages of 25 to 35, intelligent, educated, creative, talented, inspiring, caring, spiritual not religious, passionate, funny and a whole lot more.

First name Wandumzi, in m culture means “new edition to a home”, second name Masake which means “let’s build”, last name Lwandile (not on my birth certificate), which means “what has been built has been reaped”,

My favourite story of my childhood, told by my mother, happened before I was born. I have only heard this story once and it was told at a crucial point in my life were I did not have a clue what I am doing on this earth (which is a cyclical thing… existential crises and all). Trying to find MY purpose; which i’m still working on but after that story I have a clearer direction every time i thing about it…

When nestled in my mother’s womb in the first stages of my outreach and the first trimester of her pregnancy, tests and scans showed that there was an embryo but no indication of life; there was no heart beat of any kind or signs pointing to one. Which meant that she would have to evacuate her dormant but occupied womb . This, as you may imagine, put my mother in a flat spin of emotions. This was her first child and he or she wouldn’t make it.

So after two weeks of weeping and struggling with the decision that she had to make, she made the appointment.  And like any mother, before resorting to something so extreme, so permanent, which also seemed to be the correct prognosis, she asked the doctors to do one more scan, look one more time…as if to reaffirm that her that all her anguish, hope, disbelief and anger had to amount to something better than the presented alternative; and there I was… B-boom… b-boom… b-boom… making my presence known.

[My mother liked saying that I have always liked things done on MY time, always taking it easy; which has been an eternal truth in my lifetime thus far].

I fought to get here, so there must be a reason i’m here right?

I am part of a typical nuclear family. My younger sister and I complete the definition. Typical we may be, normal we are not

[we’ll get into that].

I got the nickname Dizzle sometime in high school from my friend Simon, during a chill session at home (unsanctioned by the folks of course) . I was first Wandizzle, which was shortened mid-laugh and stuck.

I know this not much, but this is only an intro.

My name is Wanda Masake Sokutu, but you can call me Dizzle

 

Standard

4 thoughts on “Call me Dizzle

  1. Xoliswa says:

    Hi Dizzle
    wow really touched by how you describe how you are meant to be here and alive today facinating story 🙂 it is indeed with no doubt you are here for a reason…

Leave a Reply

